A collection of various useful tables with scales and gradings

Message from NEUROSURGIC

Please observe that

we do not have the possibilty to

add more conferences

for the moment


ASA classification

In 1963 American Society of Anesthesiologists adopted a five category classification system for assessing a patient before surgery. A sixth category was later added.

IA normal healthy patient.
IIA patient with mild systemic disease.
IIIA patient with severe systemic disease.
IVA patient with severe systemic disease that is a constant threat to life.
VA moribund patient who is not expected to survive without the operation.
VIA declared brain-dead patient whose organs are being removed for donor purposes.



New classification of physical status. Anesthesiology 1963; 24:111


You are here:

▼ Advertisement